Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus

The Museum of Contemporary Art (or MoCA) in Los Angeles has a simple but imaginative sign outside its building.  When standing still directly in front of the sign, one can barely make it out the letters on its mirrored surface.

DSC_0086

But do you see a little color in there?  That’s because, when viewed from the side, the letters pop out in technicolor tones:

DSC_0084

I couldn’t get enough of this sign.  I didn’t take as many pictures of it as I could have, but I did manage to get in two of the same view with different focal points.  In the picture above, I kept my depth of field shallow, and kept the focal point right at the closest letters.  Then I reversed that and focused on the opposite end of the sign, bringing the farthest letters more into focus:

DSC_0085 - Version 2

The colors appear brighter in the second shot – I don’t know if I changed a setting, or if by changing the focus, the camera read the colors more vividly.  At any rate, I loved the sign’s shifting colors as I walked past it, with some letters showing their true colors, while others faded into the background.  I can’t decide whether I love the shiny camouflage or the surprise of color the best.  I guess it just depends on what you focus on.

One thought on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Focus

  1. If you had played with the fstop you could have changed the depth of field (dof) so a mix of focus, fstop and exposer you would have been able to bring them all into focus. I carry a notebook and in it is the situation I am shooting and camera setting that worked. If you right click on an image and click properties and go to advance you will find the setting of the image. Its called the EXIF you can also down load an EXIF editor where you can read and edit the info but also add your details for copyright.

Leave a Reply

