Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward (?)

I did something the other night, and I took a picture of it, and I might regret it.  I don’t know what I was thinking…

 

Screen Shot 2013-02-26 at 7.28.22 AM

Not what you were thinking, huh?

See in that blue box, where it says ‘You are viewing your submitted application’?  *YIKES*

This is a big leap forward for me.

The application was completed spur-of-the-moment, at nearly midnight, because I seem to be losing my usual habit of getting in my own way when it comes to my singing career.  Oh, pardon me – ‘career’.  But as a matter of fact, this is only one of several uncharacteristically bold moves I’ve made in that area of my life in the past few months.

~ Someone called and offered me a church job, and I took it, sight unseen.

~ I wanted to perform another recital, and instead of sitting on my butt, making excuses for how I couldn’t make it happen, I sent one email, and the recital was born.

~ I had a few conversations (conversing at times with other people, sometimes with myself), and those talks, coupled with a colleague’s passing comment about an art song workshop, lead to the hurriedly-completed application above.

Have I mentioned that the SongFest program I just applied to is a month-long workshop, on the other side of the country, during summer vacation, and costs about five grand?  I am literally in denial about those obstacles to my forward progress.

WHAT AM I THINKING?

Where’s the old Karen who continually said things like, ‘No’, and, ‘I can’t do that’, and set up insurmountable obstacles in her own path before anyone else could?  Was she smarter than this?

Maybe.  But I don’t think she was moving forward.

via www.farawayinthesunshine.wordpress.com

via http://www.farawayinthesunshine.wordpress.com., from her entry into the Weekly Photo Contest.  Thanks!

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Forward (?)

Leave a Reply

