A well-curated ‘art’ collection

Know this about me – I’m not one to get sentimental and save every piece of ‘art’ my children make.  I mean, I’m sentimental enough, I just can’t risk being buried alive under every drawing, project or knick-knack that comes home with my kids after daycare/school/camp.  So, I tend to be a little ruthless about purging Hailey and Evan’s ‘masterpieces’ after they pass the threshold of the house.  90% of it all has ended up in the trash or recycling, I won’t lie.

But every once in a while, something comes along that must be kept – if for nothing more than its potential to make me cry in later years. (“Remember when they were so little…*sob*?”)

However, my kids seem to be going through a very rich time, creatively, in their lives.  They’ve come up with some really thought-provocking pieces that I’d like to share with you for your perusal.

This was how Evan told me he needed new sneakers:

That little bit of gray with the wheels drawn underneath it is a piece of his shoe sole.

That little bit of gray with the wheels drawn underneath it is a piece of his shoe sole.

 

These were conceived as a set, again by Evan:

IMG_1077 IMG_1078

 

I recently gave a recital of songs, and Hailey gave me a pep rally on paper:

DSC_0022

She held it up like a sign at a baseball game while I performed, as our friends kept her from blocking other people’s views.

 

Inspired by Valentine’s Day and god-knows-what combination of commercials he’d seen on tv, Evan drew this on his white board:

He has a crush on ‘Mary’ in his class. The rest of it translates to: I love love love love everybody. Share your love with me. Evan

 

And, for the pièce de résistance – this was Evan’s note to me before my recital performance:

This one cracked my heart in two.  When I exclaimed what marvelous things the kids had made for me, Evan said, 'Dad made us do it.'

This one cracked my heart in two. When I thanked him, Evan said, ‘Dad made us do it.’

2 thoughts on “A well-curated ‘art’ collection

  1. What a wonderful collection! My daughter is a consummate writer of notes and picture sketcher…it’s become a hoarder’s paradise, since I have such a problem deciding what should be recycled!

Leave a Reply

