It’s all in the timing

This is how my kids looked when I sent them off to school this morning:

Image

In honor of the 100th day of the school year, the kids were invited to dress up as if they were 100 years old.  According to the flyers that got sent home from school, this was to happen on Friday.

I mean, this Friday.  As in, today.

Soon after my kids arrived at school, I got an email from Evan’s teacher – the flyer for “Dress Like You’re 100” day.  I wondered to myself, “Funny time for her to send this, being as the school day has started and there’s nothing that can be done about it, now…”  But hey, my mind had bigger fish to fry, like how to fit in a nap before meeting a girlfriend for lunch.  (First World problems….)

I didn’t give the costumes a second thought until the kids got off the bus at 2:45, and greeted me with, “It’s next Friday, Mom.”

“What’s next Friday?”

“The day we’re supposed to dress like we’re 100.”

Whaaat??  How could this happen?  I read all the paperwork about it, and –  oooooooohhhh, yeah, that’s how it happened….

Then, I could see, clear as day, all the flyers and reminders that I had perused, taking in only the ‘Friday’ part of the date, but not the crucial ‘Jan. 25‘ which came immediately after.

It was a little embarrassing for the kids, but the good news is that we have the jump on next Friday.

The 25th.

2 thoughts on “It’s all in the timing

  1. Hah! I love it! I shared this story with my co-teacher today and she loved it, too. For our 100th day we’re inviting the children to each bring in 100 of something… this could have interesting results.
    Nice font for your new blog look!

    • Thanks! The kids had a great day TODAY, Jan. 25, all dressed up as old people.
      Thanks for the compliment on the new look!

Leave a Reply

