My lunch is better than your lunch

I’ve blogged about this sandwich before in passing, but I think it’s time I devote an entire post to the wonder that is the Pan Bagnat:

This sandwich is so good, you guys.  You have no idea.

I can get this sandwich in only one place – at Maison Robert Chocolates in Chamblee.  It’s anybody’s guess why this great chocolate and confection shop also sells an awesome sandwich, but I’m not one to look a gift horse in the mouth.  The sandwich is there and I can buy it and eat it; that’s all I need to know.

The sandwich I love is actually a variation on a true pan-bagnat (thanks for the info, Wikipedia), which is basically Salade Nicoise on white bread.  My beloved version switches out brie cheese for the tuna and anchovies, and I couldn’t be happier.

Let me explain what comprises this sandwich.  First, the bread: it is simple, round and white and merely meant to help you hang onto the contents of the sandwich, not as a whole-grain taste sensation.  Unpretentious bread.  I like that.

The contents?  Tomato, cucumber, lettuce, shredded carrot, olives, fresh basil, hard-boiled eggs, and brie cheese, drizzled with a bit of balsamic vinegar and olive oil.  It sounds like a hot mess, but it tastes like something your lunch only dreams of being.  I even pick all of the olives off and it is still my go-to, death-row-menu sandwich.

I have no hope of making this at home – the people at Maison Robert bake the bread in-house, and I’ve never seen anything in the grocery store that could hope to match its sturdy yet unassuming texture and flavor.  Maison Robert has a lock on Chamblee-area Pan Bagnat sandwiches, and I’m happy to go there to keep their monopoly alive.  Long live lunch!

4 thoughts on “My lunch is better than your lunch

    • They pre-make the sandwiches and they’re all wrapped up, ready to go. But picking off a few olives is a small price to pay for such a great sandwich…

Leave a Reply

