Playlists

For what it’s worth, once a week I go out for a run.  Well, ‘run’ is a generous term for it – I really just shuffle a bit faster than the average person’s walking pace.  My legs aren’t that long, so any person 5’9″ or taller could probably keep up with me while walking at a leisurely lope.

But as I said, for what it’s worth, I do get out and pound the pavement.  I usually have my iPhone with me and I catch up on my NPR podcasts while looping around the neighborhood.  But I’ve found that Ira Glass’s voice just doesn’t contain any inspiring qualities when I’m struggling halfway up a hill.  For those times when I need an adrenalin boost, an extra bit of ooomph, I’ve got my workout playlist.

I have my husband to thank for the Blues Traveler and U2 songs – I listen almost exclusively to the indie-rock duo the Indigo Girls and although some of their songs can rock out, I wouldn’t say that ‘Ghost‘ really gets my blood pumping.

I have an enduring attachment to the music of the Indigo Girls, and come to think of it, I’m sure I can make an ‘IG Only’ workout mix.  Give me a minute…

Okay, here’s what my Indigo Girls workout mix looks like:

Fugitive – Swamp Ophelia

Land of Canaan – Indigo Girls

What Are You Like – Poseidon and the Bitter Bug

Joking (live version) – 1200 Curfews

Don’t Think Twice – Staring Down the Brilliant Dream

It’s Alright – Shaming of the Sun

Compromise – Come On Now Social

Yield – Become You

Damo – Beauty Queen Sister

I Don’t Wanna Know – 1200 Curfews

Pendulum Swinger – Despite Our Differences

Making Promises – Beauty Queen Sister

Trouble – Come On Now Social

Money Made You Mean – Despite Our Differences

I could also compile an IG playlist for locking oneself in a room and crying all day, but that will have to wait for another post.

P.S. No offense to the Girls, but the best cool-down song after a workout will always be ‘Beautiful‘ by Christina Aguilera.

3 thoughts on “Playlists

  1. Indigo Girls! Yes! Great playlist. There’s an album of theirs for every phase of my life beginning in college. Sometimes I hear your voice belting it out along with them… And, here’s to each of us running at our own pace!

  2. I have Hailey hooked on them, too. I put her to sleep for years with their music playing. I’m looking forward to taking her to a concert someday!

    • That’s great! They came to our home town here a few years ago- a little theater in Concord- we were toward the back but relatively close for such a small space. It was my big chance.

Leave a Reply

