A SAHM Psalm

My kids are totally the boss of me;

I shall have no peace.

They make me to lie down exhausted,

they lead me to drink.

They guide me upon the path to the nuthouse

for Pete’s fucking sake.

+++

Yea, though I walk through the valley of tantrums,

I will fear no time-outs,

for your bedrooms have doors that lock

and your father gets home at six.

Selective serotonin reuptake inhibitors, they comfort me.

+++

But I am preparing to lose my shit

in the presence of all this whining;

let me anoint my throat with something cold

before my anger overflows.

+++

Surely, peace and quiet will follow me

sometime after nine p.m.

And I will surf the web

forever.

Amen

One thought on “A SAHM Psalm

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Love | Benign Neglect

Leave a Reply

