We caved

Here’s what my living room looks like right now:

But let me back up a bit…

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

I’ll start with a confession: I don’t like children’s birthday parties.

Growing up, my own birthday parties were just family get-togethers – as long as I got to blow out a candle and open plenty of presents, I was happy.  I think I had my first ‘friends party’ in fifth grade.  I got a Crystal Barbie and a Debbie Gibson cassette tape and it was awesome.  My next big party was my sweet sixteen – we rented the church Fellowship Hall, but other than that, all I remember of it was that I wore black Gap jeans and a hot-pink t-shirt.

So, I don’t come from an elaborate party background.  I have the same standards for my kids’ birthdays as I had for my own – I consider them well-celebrated if there is a cake and some presents.  So, it was kind of a big deal that this year, Jon and I invited a gaggle of Hailey’s young friends to a birthday roller skating party yesterday.

A big, big thanks to the parents and grandparents of all the kids who came – I know it’s a sacrifice to spend several hours of a Saturday afternoon in a loud and weirdly lit roller rink, trying to ensure your kid doesn’t sustain a serious head injury.  Believe me, I think every child’s party should come with a ‘booze package’ for the parents who are forced to stick around and make awkward conversation with other parents.  (If we host another birthday party in the near future, I promise it will be a ‘drop-off’ party, so you can all go home and drink as much as you want.)

But what fun the kids had!  They skated;

        

they played on the huge indoor playground;

     

they sang a rousing rendition of ‘Happy Birthday’ over a cookie cake;

and the whole event was concussion-free!

Hailey also got plenty of presents – which have now been joyfully spread all over our living room.  Which leaves me, oh yeah…

Leave a Reply

